Friday, February 21, 2020

Look under my guidelines file Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 750 words

Look under my guidelines file - Essay Example Here are five great advertisers’ capturing tricks that will amaze you. First, have you ever wondered why advertisers place the products and objects being promoted on the right hand of the promoting artists? I bet you have never realized this fact. What this achieve is the power to identify with. Majority of people in the world, as so is in every random population, are right-handed. Having the object being promoted, say a new drink, held in the right-hand makes the advertisement easy to identify with for a large portion of the population. It makes the audience feel that they can also comfortably do the same. This is as opposed to having them imagine a drink in their non-predominant hand. Try to imagine a popular drink advertisement with the product in your left hand. It feels awkward, doesn’t it? Buying is all about decision. Whether planned or impulsive, decisions arise from a attraction of the mind. One great trick that elicit decision is emotions. Advertisers bring out the emotional attraction in advertisements through the use of color. Different colors call for different emotions. When it is red, excitement and happiness is expected. When blue, serenity and some level of seriousness is expected. Similarly, when it is green, healthy and freshness are the audience’s expectations. Think of an advertisement for fresh vegetables done in brown. It seems wrong from the start. Advertisers know what you perceive to be right and expected. They will use this to their advantage and you will find yourself buying the product. Advertisers are also known to create simple threats that are rather innocent per se. For instance, a basic product may be labeled ‘must have’. To create the threat aspect, a limited offer of reduced price is imposed. A label like â€Å"For Today Only† will be embedded to ensure instant purchase by all those who see the advertisement. However, have you ever gone back to a store that had a â€Å"For Today Only†

Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Time Management Matrix-Leadership Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 500 words

Time Management Matrix-Leadership - Essay Example As such, the time management matrix may arguably be considered an effective time management resource thereby invoking the importance of its analysis. The first quadrant comprises of urgent and important items such as a crying baby and some calls. This implies that items in the first quadrant require immediate attention and cannot be postponed. The second quadrant is a composition of not urgent but important items such as exercise and vacation. Items in the second quadrant may be regarded long term due to their lack of urgency but should not be neglected. According to Covey, items in the second quadrant are somewhat neglected, perhaps, because they are not urgent. Nonetheless, it important to note that efficacy is achieved by working both strategically and tactically and items in quadrant two ensure this. For example, exercising is not urgent but it is an important aspect of healthy living. The third quadrant entails items that are urgent but may be regarded as not important such as other calls. This implies that quadrant three items could be eliminated but people feel the need to hold on to them. As such, these items consume the largest portion of people’s time thereby corrupting effective time management. Finally, the fourth quadrant is a composition of items that are neither important nor urgent such as trivia. Quadrant four items are generally those that people take as breaks from important activities hence they can be considered to add relatively little value. Therefore, quadrant four items may be eliminated in an effort to avoid wasting time. The time management matrix arguably provides a proper strategy of managing time effectively hence can be useful tool in leadership. After analyzing and comprehending the application of time management matrix, leaders should take time to categorize their different commitments into respective quadrants. Additionally, after categorizing commitments, calculations of percentage of

Monday, January 27, 2020

Why Should We Teach Shakespeare English Language Essay

Why Should We Teach Shakespeare English Language Essay The writings of Shakespeare play an important part of the heritage of the English literature which sends us the moral obligation to teach Shakespeare. Constructed by critical approach, the narrow, elitist hierarchy of texts written by Shakespeare, which was considered as the apex as a touchstone of excellence to protest to match inferior productions, are now a remote view, quite different from the great variety and richness of human experience in the arts. However, personal sense of works should be encouraged to communicate with many people by sharing celebration, accessing to tradition of communal dramatic experience, not as the key to ivory tower. Language of Shakespeare contains not only specific historical and cultural context, but also introduces all kinds of linguistic development by widening the way of seeing and thinking. Besides, our language, concept, and perception can be enriched by coping with his language. As a teaching aid, Shakespeares innovative use of vocabulary helps show children how to use the language they are born with better than a bland textbook, even when used without this aim in mind. Children should be encouraged to access to Shakespeare, and since parents seem to be too lazy to read to their children any more, it must be the place of school to offer this education. His dramatic and lyric poetry speaks powerfully and directly to the belief of the essential poetry in education. The idea that good poetry is deep, rich, obscure, and complex is sometimes promoted by textual analysis. Readers of Shakespeares poetry will find depth in simplicity, wisdom, or tragic mode. Dr. Johnson (1765) considers Shakespeare as a poet of Nature who filled his plays with practical axioms and domestic wisdom by his universal sympathies. Shakespeare treated his characters in action a depth and various insights that can sharpen our self-knowledge and knowledge of human condition which bring us context to test out our potential for good or ill in private reflection when discussing with others. In the field of drama and theatre, scripts of Shakespeares plays provide us full range of practical activity, workshop improvisation and mime which is based on different moments or themes to full-scale public performance. Students from primary school onwards can experience through the formal and narrative structures, as well as the language of plays and poetry of Shakespeare. From this, deeper understanding his texts can be raised higher to each level. The texts in Shakespeares works are open to explore the way in which apparently settled notions of kingship, order, harmony, nobility, and social class and gender are threatened by unresolved forces. Difficulties and challenges in teaching Shakespeare are the opportunities. Shakespeare is the cultural treasure not only of England but also the world. An education in England cannot ignore the vast cultural wealth of our country. For too long England have lost pride in its national icons and allowed nationalists to reclaim them as their own. Keeping control of the powerful icons such as Shakespeare is a tool for integration. Shakespeare has enlightened the lives of the people of this country for 500 years, and for good reason. His poetry and drama represent the pinnacle of the English language, and influences the way we speak today. It is a beautiful body of work, ranging from comedy to tragedy, murder to hatred, treating difficult subjects brilliantly. If we are to remain proud of the history of this country, we cannot ignore the contribution made by this one man to our culture, and wider European culture. Shakespeare made his name here, but has been read by an audience far beyond the reaches of this sceptred isle (Shakespeare: Richard II, 2.i). Shakespeare is also the cultural integration. Many people are worried about an upcoming generation of immigrants that do not identify themselves as British, while living in Britain and paying taxes to the British government. Culture is a key tool in integration; if you can share a cultural identity, you can share other values and bring the wider community together. Teaching Shakespeare, a bastion of British culture, in schools to this end is far better than forcing citizenship ceremonies and oaths of allegiance on children. It is not forceful, but creates a sense that they are part of a country with a long and proud history, willing to integrate new communities into its growth. Shakespeare was way ahead of his time. Many of his characters and situations are modern day and relate to us. Also, his plays and poetry show us things about ourselves that other pieces of literature often cant. The mastermind himself has invented a whole new phase of the English language. To this date, we all use words which directly or indirectly have their origins in Shakespeares works. Also, many movies are being made on his works which has further generated an interest in the Bard. They are even applicable to todays 21st century. There are still Macbeths, Othello, Julius Caesars and others in the society. Its just that their lifestyle has become more advanced, more tech-savvy and dressed differently. Its just that their lifestyle has become more advanced, more tech-savvy and dressed differently. Shakespeare is a pro at deciphering the human emotions and the working of the mind. One can also see his works from a psychological point of view and identify with some of the characters . It might also give an insight to the students who are learning about it and give a better view of the real world as opposed to seeing the world through rose-tinted glasses. II. Recent Shakespeare teaching in schools Generally, teaching and learning in schools have been transformed radically during the last twenty-five years. Learning process is now emphasized within different contexts, oral, as well as valuable written outcomes, active modes of learning, such as: role-play, group discussion, and independent learning). The development of media studies encourages extending the range of linguistic and visual experiences. Literature, in this stream, is no longer perceived as the central study in English, but one of a range of possibilities. Not only competing for time with other literature, Shakespeare also fights with the role of English as a support subject across the curriculum. Shakespeare studies in schools have got many fruitful developments, in which there are two significant ones: the growth of practical drama work through workshop and Theatre-in-Education, and plain text examinations. The pioneers of the first fruit are Henry Caldwell Cook (1917) and Beacock (1943) who established the mummery in Perse School, Cambridge, and were seminal influences on teaching through drama. It was not until in the late 1960s when the growth of educational drama introduced Shakespeare into the teaching in state schools with possible way of grouping students into 4 or 5 member resident companies who are responsible a certain part given by teacher to discuss and perform before evaluation of the whole class. Plain text examinations are given particularly to O level by providing the text in the examination room shifting students to respond by using their own words. III. Teaching Shakespeare in England With many young people, Shakespeare play is just a story with fixed values to be learned, rather than the dramatically dynamic, emotionally shifting and unstable play text which it really is. There are still many classes where students sit at their desks experience by reading through a Shakespeare play. Nothing startling, but a few right ingredients were there with enthusiastic teaching, playing the text, and seeing a performance. Many people leaving school along with the thinking of the most unbelievable and unutterable rubbish to ever hear about Shakespeares plays. Ted Wragg, one of the most well-respected and well-loved educationalists of Britain agreed that there was nothing but doing Shakespeare, rather than reading if someone wants to let children access the power of Shakespeares words. 1. Pre-national Curriculum Beginning of the twentieth century sees the secondary education becoming compulsory and English taking its prestige value from the Classics. Along this, attitudes to Shakespeare were very much influenced by nationalist pride. William Shakespeare, whose timeless characters and portrayed universal values in his plays define our humanity, was reversed as the greatest poet of all time. Shakespeare, in the post enlightenment age when art was considered as the human surrogate for religion (Peter Widdowson, 1981), was like the apex of high culture which was the target for Victorian belief of a better person if exposing to it. Richard Adams (1985), despite decrying the static of Shakespeare, comments that most students still respect Shakespeare although they get bored to tears by reading incomprehensive words if his plays. In the first half of twentieth century, Shakespeares plays were read around class only, which was the main topic for the influential critics such as: AC Bradleys character -based criticism, LC Knights journal Scrunity, and critics like Tillyard, Wilson Knight and Leavis whose concepts of an ordered Elizabethan world helped transmit clear cultural values in Shakespeares plays to us. This tradition of criticism the liberal humanist took the plays in the view of literature rather than drama and influenced a long life in secondary schools. However, on the other side, different views on seeing the plays as the performance texts also existed. Founded in 1906, The English Association suggested in its first pamphlet publications The Teaching of Shakespeare in Schools how to study Shakespeares plays: It is desirable that all the Shakespeare chosen for study should be read aloud in class. The living voice will often give a clue to the meaning, and reading aloud is the only way of ensuring knowledge of the metre. In a class of beginners the teacher must take a liberal share of the reading, but the pupils should be brought into play. They can be cast for some of the parts; the forum scene in Julius Caesar comes one step nearer the dramatic if the teacher is Anthony and the other parts are distributed and the class transformed into a Roman mob shouting for the will. Many writers on Shakespeare education agreed that it was so dangerous for opening textbooks before students in classrooms but forgetting what drama really meant. This pamphlet also recommended good practice by acting out scenes and seeing performance of the play occasionally. Henry Caldwell Cook (1917) strongly encouraged the case for a theatrical approach to the study of Shakespeare. Under the influence of the liberal humanist tradition in teaching, the trend for drama-based teaching of texts was still calling. A.K Hudson (1954) confirmed the important role of active approaches to teaching Shakespeare in his book Shakespeare and the Classroom for The Society for Teachers of English. He wrote in the introduction of this book: The unsuccessful methods [of teaching Shakespeare] normally display two features: they are non-dramatic and they reflect a tendency to regard school children as textual scholars in embryo. The present book recognises frankly the difficulties which the modern pupil finds in dealing with Shakespeare. It has been written in the belief that the plays can be made intelligible and interesting only if the teaching remains stage-centred. The writer suggests practical advice and ideas on how to work with the plays with 11-18 years old. He believes in the benefits from his ways to students when learning Shakespeare. Government, in this time, also had innovative opinions on teaching Shakespeare, which is illustrated by its document named The Newbolt Report (entitled The Teaching English in England) published in 1921. The report, besides remaining the traditional view of regarding Shakespeare as the greatest English writer, focused on the need for English to be enjoyable and encouraged the use of drama for improving the imagination and empathy. School curriculum in this time is the secret garden where schools decide themselves on how much and what about Shakespeare to teach. Frank Whitehead (1966) and J.W. Patrick Creber (1965) introduced a more pragmatic view on Shakespeare in their two books influential in the teaching of English in the mid 1960s. Despite keeping the point of view of Shakespeare as greatest English wri ter, they see that Shakespeare was really difficult for the majority of students, and wonder the suitability of the study of Shakespeare for young teenagers. Jan Kott (1965) concludes that the attitudes to Shakespeare academic and theatrical world were undergone the revolution. Moreover, universities and theatres ignored the traditional, reverential view of Shakespeares plays. 2. The 1980s In the mid 1980s, independent schools and higher ability streams were the province of Shakespeare studies which, despite of having lost favor with general rank and files of teachers in England, became very much the norm with its performance consciousness. Neil King (1985) suggested that Shakespeare should not be taught below Year 9 because the language is too high and difficult to attempt. He chose Macbeth and Henry V instead of the full of violence and hatred in Romeo and Juliet to deal with thirteen-year-old students. John F Andrews writes in the Teaching Shakespeare a special edition produced by American Shakespeare Quarterly in 1984: A decade ago performance-oriented pedagogy was relatively unfamiliar among Shakespeareans and was anything but universally accepted as the wave of the future. Now it is difficult to find a dissenting voice: virtually everybody acknowledges the need to approach Shakespeares plays as dramatic rather than literary works. The only real question seems to be just how to put the new consensus into practice. Also in this edition, Kenneth Muir, in his essay Teaching Shakespeare: the wrong way or the right, affirms that the most effective and only legitimate way to study Shakespeares plays in schools is to turn the lessons into a rehearsal. Late 1980s and early 1990s sees the clash of view over the position of Shakespeare in education between the left wing cultural materialist academics and the right wing guardians of cultural heritage. 1980s was the period of critical theories which opened up academic Shakespeare study. The Feminist and Cultural Materialist got the most influential on Shakespeare teaching. Bardolatry, which had built up around Shakespeare at seemed to be out of time and a repository of universal truth, was strongly attacked by Cultural Materialism. In 1980s, context to the plays in textbooks dealing with Shakespeare were increasingly adapted. Besides, educationalists who were already working with such ideas were provided a theoretical underpinning by the academics. Opposite the awareness of cultural, historical and other contextual influences which is embedded as part of examination requirements along with the awareness of literary heritage of these days, summer 1993 came what the Observer called The Battle of the Bard which saw John Major, at his Party Conference, railed against 500 academics who had written a letter protesting against the Governments policies on literature teaching in which the introduction of Shakespeare was compulsory at Key Stage 3. While the academics view of the policies was like an ill-thought-through elitist imposition of a death white man, it was, with the party members, the chance for moral fibre of all right-minded inhabitants of this sceptred isle to be strengthened. Meanwhile, teachers shrugged and tried to get on with their daily teaching tasks. Luckily, in the stream of this chaos, Dr Rex Gibson, the English greatest Shakespearean educationalist, was building an oasis of sense for some teachers with quiet achieving great success of his invaluable research in project Shakespeare in schools started in 1986. Gibsons team, working from the Cambridge Institute of Education, produced a termly the newsletter named Shakespeare and Schools which is as a support for the teaching of Shakespeare, containing quotes, articles, information, and writings by teachers on their direct experiences with Shakespeare in Primary and Secondary schools. Gibson introduced his fruitful result by using active and flexible approaches to the plays to involve every student of any age to appreciate Shakespeare: In total, our research reveals an encouraging picture. Teachers increasingly report success as they employ a variety of methods, at the heart of which is social collaborative, imaginative, re-creative activities. Such methods deepen and enhance students informed personal responses. First appeared in 1991, Gibsons school editions of plays provides a wealth of practical ideas facing with each page of text. They soon became popular in every English stock-cupboard and the compulsory study of Shakespeare in Key Stage 3. Moreover, his book, Teaching Shakespeare (1998) became the favorite of many new and experienced teachers alike. In the early 1990s, Royal Society of Arts (RSA) project also conveyed the same spirit of how to make Shakespeare accessible in the origin to all age groups from 5 upwards by using well prepared, exciting, and enjoyable teaching and learning approaches. The project, in the echo of Gibsons work, tried to counter the idea of Shakespeare as a bogeyman whose works are so difficult, irrelevant, and inaccessible. RSA introduced a more practical, fun approach to replace the scholarly one, which allows teachers and students to develop skills, knowledge and sharing ideas. In the same purpose, Shakespeare and Schools project, the work of Royal Shakesp eare Company (RSC), National Theatre, and Globe education departments, involved enormously the development of teaching and learning Shakespeare with new approaches. 3. The National Curriculum From 1976, the quality of state education and a great deal of discussion about the curriculum were questioned but most ideas were still theoretical and generalized. Despite broadly mentioned in Curriculum Matter 1, a document of Department of Education and Science, published in 1984, there was still unclear way of how much, which work(s) of Shakespeare, which age of students to teach Shakespeare. Having initiated plans for National Curriculum (NC) of predecessor, Keith Joseph, Kenneth Baker, as Secretary of State for Education in May 1986, was determined to change and create specific requirements for all school children. He got his goal and opened the door of opportunity in 1987 by tying up all the details for NC. He clearly believed that Shakespeare should be a compulsory author to study for having cultural and intellectual cachet. Nigel Lawson, in an interview with The Guardian, in September 1983, summed that Shakespeare was a Tory without any doubt. Shakespeare, in the view of Tor ies, is as the bastion of British culture and values, a stable enduring symbol of Englishness in a shifting world. In September 1992, the Conservative view was stated clearly by John Patten, then Education Secretary: It is essential that pupils are encouraged to develop an understanding and appreciation of our countrys literary heritage. Studying the works of Shakespeare is central to that development. That is why the study of Shakespeare is an explicit requirement of the National Curriculum. This point of view alienated many teachers and academics who did not support the compulsory Shakespeare study. They still questioned the values about class and women in the writings of this white man, and denied students access to a man who is generally regarded as the worlds greatest playwright but simply reverse snobbery. From autumn 1989, the National Curriculum was introduced progressively. It begins with unspecific state that pupils should learn some of Shakespeares works. Besides, a new battle of the Bard began in September 1990 when SATs, a kind of Scholastic Assessment Test, were first embarked to Year 7 students on the English NC program. The Cox Report, English for Ages 5-16, in 1989, mentioned the implication of drama-based methods for teaching Shakespeare: In particular, every pupil should be given at least some experience of the plays or poetry of Shakespeare. Whether this is through the study, viewing or performance of whole plays or of selected poems or scenes should be entirely at the discretion of the teacher. The report continued on the comment of Gibsons Shakespeare and Schools project that secondary students received wide range of abilities to find Shakespeare meaningful, accessible and enjoyable from the project which also replaced traditional methods of reading desk-bound students by exciting, enjoyable approaches. The place of Shakespeare in NC is also validated in this report: Many teachers believe that Shakespeares work conveys universal values, and that his language expresses rich and subtle meanings beyond that of any other English writer. Other teachers point out that evaluations of Shakespeare have varied from one historical period to the next and they argue that pupils should be encouraged to think critically about his status in the canon. But almost everyone agrees that his work should be represented in a National Curriculum. Shakespeares plays are so rich that in every age they can produce fresh meanings and even those who deny his universality agree on his cultural importance. In 1995, as the information in the Dearing Report, a new slimmed-down version of NC was given to schools, which stated that at least two Shakespeare plays should be taught during the Key Stage 3 and 4. 4. The SATs Early 1990s, Shakespeare was added on Paper 2 of the Key Stage 3 SATs examinations, which went along with the fact that all Year 9 students had to study 3 plays of Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet, Julius Caesar, and A Midsummers Night Dream. The questions in exam were traditionally literary, based on the set scenes of the plays. Students were required to answers the questions as well as writing their response in 1 hour 15 minutes. Both reading and writing skills were required. However, the questions were still in the form that regards an audience member as a reader rather than a witness at a place. For example, the question relating to Act 1 Scene 3 of Julius Caesar: At this point in the play do you support the conspirators? Or the question relating to Act 1 Scene 5 of Romeo and Juliet: How are moods of excitement, romance and danger created during the scene? How do they affect the audiences feelings about Romeo and Juliet at this point in the play? A better question that allows students to give more interpretive response is the one relating to Act 3 Scene 1 of A Midsummers Night Dream: If you were directing the scene, what would you tell the actors to help them bring out the comedy? However, this paper was boycotted by the majority of schools in the trend of boycott the English Key Stage 3 SATs because teachers and students felt that the paper was so quick to be adequately prepared. In 1995, the first year of national tests for all Year 9 students, SATs were deigned to be as inoffensive although the format was the same. The questions tried to put students into characters behavior in the set scene or characters place, and then asked students to writes a letter or diary as that character. In the next years, most questions were largely character-based. 2003 sees another battle when the ideas of Estelle Morris vetoing a QCA (Qualifications and Curriculum Authority) recommendation of reducing the test to 45 minutes and checking reading skill only. The set plays were Twelfth Night, Macbeth and Henry V, each of which was put in a separate paper within two questions to be answered in 1 hour and 15 minutes. This new version also got so many complaints the QCA had to do a survey of teachers on how to change the paper into the best way. Because of having not enough time to change, 2004 version got the same format of paper and the problems were compounded further. The negative stress factor caused by SATs was highlighted in the Report on KS3 English Review of Service Delivery failure 2003-2004 to QCA Board. 30/09/04 that the test results of school-level key stage 3 had significant impact on school with the potential affect on teachers careers. 2005s Paper 2 was also considered as a disaster. Shakespeare in 2005, 2006 was assessed by student s who would answer one question which possessed 18% of the total English papers. The question based on the set play and required 45 minutes to respond. Since 2009, following the public consultation, only two plays Romeo and Juliet, and The Tempest have been chosen as the set texts for SATs. For Key Stage 3, the NAA suggests four plays Romeo and Juliet, As You Like It, A Midsummers Night Dream, and Julius Caesar should be on a rolling program of plays. 5. Key Stage 4 Exams In 1960s and 1970s, Shakespeare was the unique compulsory author in the old O-Level English Literature syllabus which required the study of three texts: A Shakespeare play, a novel and some poetry. It was free for the boards to choose texts from any period, although in practice, the texts were in the trend of drawing from Great Tradition. Differently, 1980s came the boards withdrawing away from the Great Tradition and compulsory Shakespeare. O-Level texts no longer insert plays or poetry. Therefore, students could escape from plays or poetry all together, and left school without having studied Shakespeare at all. The three genres: poetry, prose and drama were recovered by the introduction of GCSE supplanting the O-Level and CSE syllabuses for first examination in 1988, but the study of Shakespeare was placed in the discretion of the teacher. Some schools chose coursework with 100% mark or took chance to do some interesting assignments on Shakespeare. However, when adding both Shakespeare and a modern text, for example Forsyths Gregorys Girl, while most teachers were trying to convey the lessons in mixed-ability groups, many opted not to bother Shakespeare. In 1994, Shakespeare returned the only compulsory author on the Literature syllabuses when the Key Stage 4 program of study which was set out in the 1991 National Curriculum, came into force. In 1995, the exam boards required the texts be compared and contrasted, and be shown social and historical contexts, which became the hints for teachers to set discussions the relevance between texts social and historical contexts and today ones. Since 1999, GCSE English Language has required the study of a Shakespeare play to meet the requirement of NC that a play should be studied at Key Stage 4. Regardless the ability, for the first time, all students had to study a Shakespeare play for their important 16+ exam in English. Shakespeares works are still the industry standard of literature, teaching Shakespeare in England has been innovative to update and create new approaches for a wider and deeper view on his social, historical contexts and humanity. Teachers and students play important keys to make Shakespeare lifelong.

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Personal Narrative- The Path Towards Grace, Love and Peace :: Personal Narrative Writing

Personal Narrative- The Path Towards Grace, Love and Peace When I was 16 I left my parents home. One month before I left, I wrote this in my journal: â€Å"What is the fluttering in my belly, rising up through my chest? An apprehension — a fear — excitement? I am anticipating a change — a falling down — a caving in of something I expect to be solid. I’m in a strange place, moving slowly forward with nothing that can be measured — an internal advancement, a shedding away of old selves. I am pared down.† The story of my leaving still feels like something written in code — a code no one could understand on the rational mind level. It was my soul’s decision and no amount of explaining or writing has helped enlighten those who did not understand it. I barely understood it myself. To those who did understand, I had to say very little. They knew within the first two minutes of my telling. They were inevitably people who, at some point in their lives, tried to bury their own soul’s yearnings, who had decided to live a perfectly fine and reasonable life, until the day they could not. That day of â€Å"soul excavation† remains crystal clear in their minds. As do all the nudges and urgings from the universe that led them there. Once I left, I looked back and saw this path towards that day so clearly — to me it made perfect sense. So much so that when friends asked me later, â€Å"How could you leave such a life — not having to work, good parents, nic e house?† I would answer, â€Å"How could I not?† And yet, I had never felt so humbled. With my leaving came the realization of how very little I had known my Self all those years. I did not leave gracefully. I did not expect my soul to be such an urgent and powerful force. Nor did I plan to leave when I did — but once I did, I felt supported and encouraged by something I could not name. The path ahead kept lighting up as if with neon. Go there. Do this. Fear accompanied me and frustration, guilt and desperate prayers, but no longer did I feel that deep sadness I could not name, which Sarah Ban Breathnagh, in her book Simple Abundance, says is â€Å"you missing your authentic self.† I feel lucky now that as a child I took on little of our culture’s burden around success.

Saturday, January 11, 2020

Philosophy Of Life And Education Education Essay

The delay and grueling hours of survey and fulfilment of academic demands will shortly be over. I meet the chance of graduating from this University with a grade in Business Finance with assorted feelings. First, there is alleviation that all the hours that I have put in order to accomplish this stepping rock into the universe of concern have eventually paid off. Second, there is pride that I was able to carry through so much non merely academically but besides for my ain personal development within the continuance of my class in the University. Third, there is besides the fright that I feel comes of course to every alumnus as he steps out of a familiar environment and into an unfamiliar one. I know, along with every alumnus this twelvemonth, that the existent universe of work will be much tougher than the academia. However, I am confident that with my strong background in broad instruction and in my field of specialisation, I will be able to see my ends to fruition. There are three primary ends in my life at this peculiar clip which emphasize on household, personal, and societal duties. My first end is to take a successful calling as a man of affairs as I fulfill the household duty of pull offing the household concern. Having come from a traditional Eastern household, I am expected to take over the reins of the concern which my ascendants have labored to set up in order to procure the demands of the household. When I graduate, I will apprentice under my male parent until I have adequate experience to personally run the palm oil concern that my household owns. In my civilization, household ever comes foremost. This is my manner of honouring all the forfeits that my parents have done for me in order to supply me with a nice life and an first-class instruction. As my parents progress in age, it is the duty of the kids to take attention of them in their retirement. This is why my first major end at this point in my life is to instantly use all that I have learned to back up my household and prolong our support. My 2nd end is of a personal nature. Finally, I want to prosecute a alumnus grade in order to heighten my cognition in concern direction. Obtaining a maestro ‘s grade in concern disposal in the close hereafter will be of great aid to me professionally. On a personal degree, I recognize that larning does non stop and must be pursued continually. In add-on to executing the duties that one ‘s household expects of you, one should besides see one ‘s personal growing and development as a major end. My 3rd end relates to societal duty in relation to concern as a profession. During several categories I attended, I learned and appreciated the duty for concerns to do a positive impact to the community. I consider it an duty particularly for concerns rooted in the environment, like the oil concern. I had frequently considered puting up a scholarship fund for qualified yet disadvantaged kids in my community. There are many who are deprived of the basic demands in life such as instruction that need aid from those who can supply it for them. I do non believe that the impact of my instruction should interpret into doing the most addition for the benefit of the household concern I will shortly pull off. Rather, as Wood ( 1999 ) stated, the societal duty of concerns includes the designation and rating of concern results non sole of fiscal profitableness or a company ‘s wellbeing but by rules such as moralss and societal desirableness. I believe that ethical behavior of concern and profitableness are non reciprocally sole. Ethical motives and societal duty encouragement concern while at the same clip lending positively to the society in general. I recognize of class, that the universe is undergoing several societal, economic and political turbulences. The recent planetary crises and the outstanding dirts affecting planetary corporations Enron and AIG have had several deductions for the universe of concern. Political differences all over the universe – the Israeli-Palestine struggle, terrorist act, the atomic menace posed by Iran and North Korea, and the crude oil wars – affect lives and concerns around the universe. Peace remains elusive. Without peace, the chance of economic and societal development becomes even dimmer. Furthermore, the job of clime alteration besides presents several deductions for concerns including the concern that I will shortly take. Erratic conditions forms lead to drought, torrential rains, landslides, storms and works disease which will impact the palm oil concern negatively. My hopes for the universe within the following five decennaries are many. First, I look frontward to a more sus tainable and greenish universe. Because of my engagement in the palm oil industry, I feel that I can make my portion in conveying this about. In the palm oil concern, the environment is ever a primary concern. Palm oil companies are invariably pressured by environmental groups to cut down their environmental impact, which I think is merely fitting since the industry itself relies on sustainable environments to do their concerns grow. I believe that palm oil concerns should endeavor to implement schemes that would do palm cultivation work harmoniously and non negatively with the environment. Aside from saving and re-afforestation attempts, there should besides be clear waies in research and development to come up with ways for sustainable palm oil cultivation and to develop environmentally-friendly fuel. The palm oil industry presently presents an alternate to ozone-harmful crude oil energy with biodiesel and oleo-chemicals. It is of import that these attempts are carried on for the benefit of a greener universe. Second, I besides hope for a more socially responsible concern sector. One of the most dramatic realisations I had while in college is the judgement that most concerns operate with net income as the lone end. Several industries around the Earth have left devastated environments, deforested lands, and polluted Waterss. Furthermore, corruptness and maliciousness besides hound the corporate sector following the recent batch of dirts affecting the top foreman of fiscal corporations. I feel that supplying an illustration to other concern leaders and concern proprietors on working ethically in the behavior of one ‘s concern will be important. In this mode, I feel I can someday lend to making a more socially responsible concern sector. However wishful I am to see this hope realized, I recognize that most business communities refuse to take the ethical position. I believe that the perceptual experience of many in the concern sector is that net income is the primary purpose, the societal duty ends are simply optional. I believe that non being able to determine future concern leaders to go more socially sensitive is a defect of modern twenty-four hours instruction. Education in the schoolroom has failed to interpret into work forces and adult females who care about the universe and who are capable of looking at things from a larger position. This is one of the chief grounds I am thankful that my college instruction has become an empowering experience for me. In the past, I used to be apathetic to the events that form and reshape the universe. My involvement has merely been self-preservation and self-advancement. The twenty-four hours I stepped into the university, I resolved that I will make everything I can to stand out and do my household proud of me. However, the lessons and classs I have taken have forced me to re-evaluate my ain ends and positions in life. As C.S. Lewis stated, the emancipating character of instruction transforms a pupil from â€Å" an stubborn small package of appetencies â €  toward â€Å" the good adult male and the good citizen † ( qtd. in Dunn 1 ) . As I graduate, I hope to go that adult male C.S. Lewis was mentioning to. A college instruction has done so much in pitching me towards that way. First, a college instruction has developed my ability to believe independently. Because of the diverse lessons that I have learned inside the schoolroom, from the humanistic disciplines, doctrine, political scientific discipline, and economic sciences, I have become person who can believe for himself. Before, I used to organize no sentiments about most things or issues. Yet, a college instruction has made me more opinionative and comparatively free from the confines of traditional or conventional thought. Second, it has made me more critical of the sentiments of others as good. The inclination for pupils or kids is to trust on the wisdom of those who are more experient than they are. As I learned more and endeavoured to educate myself on issues that impact me as a citizen, I found that I no longer cleaving to what my parents or equals say and think. The more sceptered my head has become, the more I can show myself. Third, a college instruction has besides led me to appreciate diverse ness in assorted signifiers. The authorization that comes from instruction allows us to see the universe from a wider lens. By larning about different civilizations, theories, and contexts, I have become more occupied to the survey of history and civilization. I admit that, being of Eastern descent, I carry with me several biass and preconceived impressions about people, events, and issues. The more I learned, nevertheless, the more I realized that I was incorrectly in most of these beliefs. I have besides developed the accomplishment to set things into the proper context and justice with an unfastened and critical head. A college instruction has besides helped me understand the universe better. It has opened my eyes to a diverse set of doctrines and accounts of phenomena that I have ne'er even dared to cognize approximately. Before I started college, many things remained cryptic or dazing to me. For case, I failed to understand why Islamic extremism exists and why people would make hideous Acts of the Apostless such as suicide bombardment. I besides could non appreciate why there are feminist motions around the universe and why generative rights is such a immense issue. Because these subjects were discussed in category, my eyes were opened for the first clip. Although I admit that taking it all in posed a great trouble, the of import thing was, unlike in the past where I was blind to such issues or phenomena, I have now learned an account for them. I enjoyed most of the assigned readings and besides exhausted clip reading books that were of a personal involvement to me. Possibly the most memorable book and philosopher I greatly appreciate and find inspirational is Nobel Prize laureate Bertrand Russell and his books, including his autobiographies. I admire his glare and his echt concern for the human race, with this quotation mark from The Autobiography of Bertrand Russell: Three passions, simple but overpoweringly strong, have governed my life: the yearning for love, the hunt for cognition, and intolerable commiseration for the agony of world. These passions, like great air currents, have blown me hither and thither, in a contrary class, over a deep ocean of anguish, making to the really brink of desperation. aˆÂ ¦ This has been my life. I have found it deserving life, and would lief populate it once more if the opportunity were offered me ( Russell 3-4 ) . Russell ‘s eternal captivation with the human spirit is something I wish for myself. With all my experiences in college, I feel the demand to construct on that cognition more and more. In the past, I could see myself a inactive scholar. Largely, I take in whatever is being taught but ne'er truly do an attempt to understand or appreciate it. I besides consider myself a lazy reader, sing it a load to bury myself in a few pages of books and analyse its contents. My strong suit has ever been in Numberss and mathematics. My life in college has changed the manner I take in cognition. When I majored in finance, I was able to appreciate how Numberss and mathematic calculations are being applied in concern. This made me more interested and more committed to my specialisation. Furthermore, I have found myself prosecuting others when discoursing societal issues and showing my sentiment when I have something to state. These betterments with myself and my methods of larning I can impute to the broad instruction provided to me and the inspiration I derived from the books and philosophers I have read. A broad instruction creates the all-around person. This is what it means to me. Broad instruction plants under the premiss that the ultimate end adult male is to go â€Å" to the full human. † To be to the full human requires non merely that work forces can be able to believe but to interpret this thought into the public presentation of our responsibilities as members of society. Hence, broad instruction does non restrict itself to the remarkable undertaking of preparation persons for the work force. While fiting people with the accomplishments they need for future employment, broad instruction, harmonizing to C.S. Lewis ( 1999 ) , â€Å" conserves civilisation by bring forthing sensible work forces and responsible citizens † ( p. 18 ) . This is after all, what sets us apart from the animate beings. Men should move non merely out of the demand for self-preservation and needs satisfaction, they should be able to be free from basic appetencies and utilize their head to ju dge what is right and incorrect for them and for society. Before, I failed to appreciate why I need to take classs in political scientific discipline or sociology or doctrine – topics which I felt were irrelevant to my major in concern finance. I realized subsequently on that an instruction with a strong background in broad humanistic disciplines provides a more comprehensive position of the universe and completes the partial position provided by one field of specialisation. If I focused on one country of cognition, my position of the universe is uncomplete. My capacity to believe critically, justice, and move upon that judgement would be limited because I lack the information demand to do wiser determinations. Hence, I began to look at my major as merely one piece of the mystifier and that cognition requires several pieces to be patched together. Several of these pieces could merely be completed with general cognition provided by a broad humanistic disciplines instruction. Broad humanistic disciplines provides all-around instruction by giving pupils a diverse organic structure of cognition and the critical thought, analytic and scrutiny accomplishments to set these thoughts into their proper context and do sense out of them. Decidedly, the broad humanistic disciplines classs I took had a liberating consequence on me. As I earlier stated, I used to look at the universe in mere Numberss and mathematics. I cared less for what was go oning around me – in the societal and political environment. As a consequence, I had several prejudices and biass which were a contemplation of my hapless background in general cognition. In this mode, instruction as a whole has become non merely necessary, but meaningful to my future profession and to my personal life. After I graduate from college, I intend to prosecute a maestro ‘s grade in order to go a fiscal analyst. I expect to read several books in finance and concern disposal. Along with these required books, I besides intend to read on moralss, doctrine and the environment to assist me accomplish the three major ends I have set for myself as I graduate from college. I want to be a good man of affairs non merely in footings of the profitableness and productiveness of my concern but because of how ethically sound I conduct my concern. My personal mission statement in one sentence is: To go to the full human and being a positive force in society by populating with honestness, compassion, and duty. In the professional sense, I want to be able to take the household concern with efficiency and profitableness while adhering to the ethical criterions and rules required of socially responsible concerns. I want to lend, in my capacity as a future man of affairs and fiscal analyst, to a greener and more sustainable Earth by advancing environmental-friendly policies and researches. Furthermore, I want to put an illustration for the concern sector in making concern responsibly.

Friday, January 3, 2020

What Did I Notice About Myself Essay - 1574 Words

What did I notice about myself this week? That’s a difficult question for me but an important one as I try to get to know myself better. Whether I’m aware of it or not I operate on a belief system that influences my values, what’s important to me, which in turn affects my attitudes, how I treat others and approach situations. The end result is my behaviour. But am I aware of my prejudices? No, not really. I’m just discovering who I am, what my behavior is and how this affects me as a manager. Schein (2004) believes we first need to understand our own assumptions - how we perceive, think, feel, and behave, before beginning to understand the shared assumptions, or culture, of an organisation. He writes, â€Å"if we understand culture, we will understand ourselves, who we are, the groups we identify with and to which we want to belong† (p. 10). The culture of my current organisation is helping me to understand myself better by encouraging me to think more critically. The culture is respectful, flexible and teamwork focused. It supports learning opportunities and employee engagement. It gives me meaning to what I do. My goal is to truly come to terms with how I think and behave then I’ll begin to recognise the underlying beliefs and prejudices in others work. As a manager, this is paramount. So what is my paradigm? I’m a realist. I’m objective, I like rules. My default strategic approach is a scientific one (quantatitive). That makes me a positivist. How disappointing! It’s not howShow MoreRelatedThe General Business 365 : Lead Course1225 Words   |  5 PagesDuring the first week of the General Business 365: LEAD course, I remember being asked to turn to page 12 and to answer the prompt â€Å"I am†¦Ã¢â‚¬  in 60 seconds. I stared at the question for a couple seconds, hesitated, and then wrote down the words that were coming to my mind. It reminded me of the first day of my English Composition 100 class senior year when my English teacher walked to the front of the class and wrote on the board, ‘Who Am I?’ and said, â€Å"Respond to this prompt.† There were five studentsRead MoreThe Norm Of Expected Appearances1295 Words   |  6 Pagesdeviance assignment, I have chosen to violate the norm of expected appearances in public . I find that there is a general expectation of both genders to carry a certain appearance when in the public eye. Good hygiene and a nice appearance are both something taught at a young age to have value and importance. The way a person presents themselves is the first thing that the general public gets a glimpse of, therefore, initial opinions are generally determined by appearance alone. I have decided to violateRead MoreMy Experience At A Baptist Church860 Words   |  4 PagesHowever, I did not come from a religious background. Although I am not completely in the dark when it comes to religion I have learn about different religion through friends and books. Therefore, I thought this would be a great opportunity to finally experience a service and put my ignorance aside. Meaning the assumption and expectation I had of church service. Furthermore, it provided me the opportunity to challenge myself and my own biases I have towards going to church. Once I went to church I wasRead MoreDivorce And Divorce1479 Words   |  6 PagesDivorce/ separation is one issue that I saw preeminent in my extended family. My grandmother, uncles, aunts, cousins and even myself, we had encounter divorce/separation. My nuclear and extended family is full Mexican, our culture is you marry the love of your life and live happily ever after. Apparently, that did not happen to myself or other members of my extended family. I growth with some believes that end up changing my perspective of marriage 360degreess. The importance of Marriage HispanicsRead MoreMgm365 Phase 1 Ip955 Words   |  4 Pages​When working for a company I expect some sort of recognition for the hard work and time I put into that company. This recognition doesnt necessarily mean in the form of a promotion or award, but just some notice that Im appreciated and my work means something to someone other than myself. That being said, theres no legal justification for my desire of recognition. In fact, its merely a personal feelings matter unless the company is violating my rights by means of some sort of discriminationRead MoreReflection Paper On Mindfulness And My Development Regarding Practicing It968 Words   |  4 Pagesthis paper, I will describe my initial thoughts about the practice of mindfulness and my development regarding practicing it. Furthermore, I will explore the idea of being a mindful therapist and how I am hoping to apply this with patients in the future. Before taking the class, and before really understanding the benefits of mindfulness, I must admit, I did not really take mindfulness exercises seriously. I tried a few exercises, led by a phone application, but I constantly wondered what these exercisesRead MoreThe Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes Essay922 Words   |  4 Pagesplay, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, is both a mystery and comedic production that was entertaining and enjoyable to watch. This play is primarily about Dr. Watson and his friend and colleague Sherlock Holmes, who together solve several different cases. Since there were three different cases, I would say that there were at least three different plots during the play. In the first act a woman by the name of Miss Violet Hunter accepts a job offer at Copper Beeches. AfterRead MoreIs It Breathing, It All Happened One Morning?876 Words   |  4 Pagesone morning. It was a weird morning, one that I had never experienced like before. My regular mornings consisted of pure happiness and joy as I woke up to the bright warm feeling of the sun on my face and the beautiful sound of birds chirping as they tried to feed from the feeder outside my window. Unlike those mornings this morning was different. This morning felt cold. The sun didn t come out and if it did, I didn’t notice it, but what I did notice was the sleepless dead stare expression drawnRead MoreI Have Found Myself Boarding The Line Of Depression1051 Words   |  5 Pagesso i have found myself boarding the line of depression. I am at the point where I come home angry. I dont enjoy my job anymore. I wish I could find my passion for it again. I am 26 with no degree. I have a husband that i love but i feel as if i am not good enough for him. we dont share common interest. he loves guns, politcal debates, working out, drinking, and he loves to learn new things. he has such a open mind to new things and sometimes, i find it intimidating. he is never shy or afraid toRead MoreI Am A New Alarm Clock1549 Words   |  7 PagesYESTERDAY- (3.4) I awoke to hear my alarm going off, an audial reminder that it was 6:30, time to begin my day. Lazily I stretched out my hand, fumbling about trying to search for the snooze button, while all along the vociferous rhythmic beeping continued. Finally with a burst of energy I sat up, and slammed the snooze button. I needed to get a new alarm clock, one with all the latest bell and whistles although my alarm was perfectly satisfactory. George got this new alarm clock with smart phone

Thursday, December 26, 2019

Clover Valley Dairy Case Essay - 623 Words

September 10, 1978 Camden, New Jersey Clover Valley Dairy Company Dear Charles, I am writing you in response to your concerns about the market test on the new cups and carriers Clover Valley Dairy Company is introducing to the consumer. I appreciate your suggestions and have definitely considered them. The purpose of the research is the see how the new packaging is accepted by the consumer and if it is worth it to move to the new six (6) container holder. Number one, I definitely agree that the multipack carriers should be tested and should be tested in other outlets that are not competing with us, but also our markets that are our competitors. I say this because I feel that we should include our competitor’s customer’s†¦show more content†¦The proposed test is definitely useful in addressing the management problems because it would address the customers concerns about the new packaging and be able to provide the best customer satisfaction and to find out if the customer would recommend making their lives easier when purchasing the product. The cost would decrease per unit if the customer accepts the multipack. I think the produc t is very good as it stands right now. If I had to do any type of recommendations to change the carrier the only thing I would probably do is if we are going to see the product to a larger chain of stores or on the Naval Base. I would have a larger box made to hold the six (6) to either twelve (12) or twenty-four (24) case. It would definitely cut the cost down since it would be supplied in bulk. In conclusion, I would agree the doing the test with having a representative set up by the dairy case. Once it has been observed whether they would chose the multipack or single cup. Once it is noticed, they representative would ask if they could do a quick survey on why they chose that particular packaging and why. I also think that we could offer a coupon for the multipacks just to see if that would have the customer purchase the item. As always we would definitely thank the customer for their time and help with us finding out what our customers want in our product. Sincerely, VinceShow MoreRelatedEssay about Case Study- Clover Valley Dairy Company830 Words   |  4 PagesCase Study: Clover Valley Dairy Company Rebeca Aquino DeVry University Case Study: Clover Valley Dairy Company Statement of the Problem(s) The main issue in this case study is the reluctance of the salespeople to comply with the implementation of the new Fist-Plus plan. As a consequence the sales department over the Des Moines office is not meeting the monthly quota. Summary of the Facts From the moment Doug Bloom got to the new office over at Des Moines it was clear thatRead MoreEssay Clover Valley Dairy Case Study - Letter to Charles Krieger958 Words   |  4 PagesClover Valley Dairy Case study - Letter to Charles Krieger Dear Charles Krieger, A big thanks for your letter in regards to market testing of the new cups and carriers! Your suggestions are much appreciated and are really very helpful in what we are trying to do. I want to share my thoughts about the market testing we want to conduct and also discuss with you the ideas you have proposed, with the final goal of finalizing them and ensuring that we indeed have the right approach for this initiativeRead MoreClover Valley Dairy Compan Essay1807 Words   |  8 PagesThis case was reprinted with permission from Subash C. Jain, International Marketing Management, CA: Southwestern Publishing Co., 1993. Cases for Part I Nature and Scope of Marketing Research CASE I-1 Clover Valley Dairy Company In the fall of 1978, Vince Roth, General Manager of the Clover Valley Dairy Company, was considering whether a newly developed multipack carrier for yogurt was ready for market testing and, if so, how it should be tested. Since 1930, the Clover Valley Dairy CompanyRead MoreAnalysis Of Starbucks Supply Chain Company5952 Words   |  24 Pagesthe form of inconsistent beverage quality and unreliable menus. Customer complaints often cited experiences where favorite menu items were not stocked, coffee tasted too bitter, lines were too long to endure during the morning commute, and in some cases, even bottled water was not available at some locations. To top it off, these issues surfaced during the mid-2000s economic recession, causing many customers to look at Starbucks as an unnecessary luxury to be taken out of the household budget. AfterRead MoreStarbucks Annual Report 200846643 Words   |  187 Pagescoffee—starting with the launch of Pike Placeâ„ ¢ Roast, our new everyday brewed coffee. This emphasis included the introduction of the â„ ¢ Starbucks Mastrena, our new, lower-proï ¬ le espresso machines, and the purchase of the company that makes the Clover ® brewer, a state-of-the-art single-cup brewing system that allows us to serve the best cup of brewed coffee available anywhere. Our customers also told us they are looking to Starbucks for more in the health and wellness space, and in response, we